RSS Feed

Kindergarten

Posted on

I’m teaching my students a variety of writing techniques to improve voice in writing.  In other words, I’m trying to give them tricks they can use to wow their readers and make their personalities come through their writing.  As they do the assignments, I’m doing them too, to give them examples.  In one assignment, I asked students to describe a person they know or used to know, using specific details for effect.  Here is my example.

My kindergarten teacher was the fattest person I had ever met.  She looked soft and fluffy, like a huge teddy bear.  When I hugged her, it was like hugging the biggest pillow in the world.  Her graying brown hair curled in tiny circles the shape of peppermint candy, and her small eyes twinkled behind enormous glasses.  Her smile was wide and friendly, her twittering laugh drawing every student into her cheerfulness, just as her arms did when she called us to circle time.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

