RSS Feed

What I Eat When I’m Alone

Posted on

This is the season of travel for Stephan.  Ice carving competitions (he competes in some and judges others) take him away from home most weekends in January and February.  Then he’s gone for a week or so at a time when he goes to Alaska and then Northwest Territory.  He’s off to Las Vegas now, and then Canada immediately after, and I’m here with the dogs and the rabbits (none of whom are very good at making conversation, playing games, or helping with the housework.)

When he’s gone, I get lazy in the kitchen.  It’s strange to me, because when I was single I did a fine job of cooking for myself.  I had only myself to feed, and I still managed to prepare well-balanced meals featuring a variety of foods.  But now, I don’t do so well when I’m on my own.  Here are things I’m likely to eat for dinner when Stephan’s gone:

  1. Eggs.  (Either scrambled or in an egg sandwich.  Sometimes I have a side of bacon, if we have some.)
  2. Ramen.  Meal choice of college students, singles, and lonely Karens.
  3. Cheese & crackers.
  4. Popcorn.
  5. Frozen pizza.  (Yes, I bake it before I eat it.)

Yeah, that’s about it.  Very heavy on the starch and protein and light on the fruits and veggies.  However, I did buy some grapefruit, bananas, and apples last week, and there are still some apples left.  So hopefully I won’t get scurvy before my husband returns.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

