RSS Feed

Sunshine makes all the difference

Posted on

I had spring break this week, and while it was nice to be away from school for a bit, the week didn’t feel very much like spring, and not quite enough like a break.

Monday was nice.  I got to sleep in and go for a run.  Tuesday was cold and rainy, and then Wednesday we had six inches of snow.  Thursday, the dreary weather persisted, and I was feeling rather dreary myself.  Stephan was home for the week (hooray!) but had a bad upper respiratory infection (boo!) so we didn’t end up doing much.  He slept a lot, and I brought him tea and tissues and cold medicine.  We lazed around, watching TV.  I did some reading and some knitting.  I got a little bit of schoolwork done.  But it didn’t feel fun enough to be a vacation and wasn’t productive enough to make up for the lack of excitement.

But today, Friday, the sun finally came out!  It’s amazing what a difference that makes.  I vacuumed the rugs, cleaned the bathrooms, ran two miles, washed and filled my bird feeder, walked the dogs, and make a cookie recipe I found on Pinterest.  (Two bananas, a cup of quick oats, a little coconut.  Bake at 350F for 15 minutes.  They are flourless and sugarless.  They taste okay but have a weird texture.)  If only the sun had been shining for my whole break, maybe I’d have felt more energized for the week.

Still, a week off is nothing to sneeze at, and I’m pleased to have  had it.  I don’t feel entirely ready to return to work, but at the same time I feel ready to get moving again on this school year if for no other reason than I’m ready to be done with it.  I enjoy teaching and I like my kids, but this year is wearing. me. out.

But if the sun keeps shining, I feel like I can face the next twelve weeks.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

