RSS Feed

Crazy Eights: 23

 

1. We haven’t gotten the official zero balance statement yet to prove it, but our last credit card is PAID OFF!  We are now FREE of consumer debt!  Wahoooooooo!  Now our only debt is our mortgage.

2. January through March is competition season for ice carvers, which means my darling husband travels a lot.  He has made a few trips to Michigan, and tonight he’s on his way back from Wyoming.  Next week it’s Alaska, and a couple of weeks after that he’ll be in Northwest Territory, Canada.  I get a little mopey when he’s gone.  I remind myself that if he were a trucker or in the military, I’d see him a lot less than I do now.  I guess it helps me get things into perspective, but it doesn’t seem to help keep me from being mopey.

3. We have just three young rabbits left.  We ate one and two are in the freezer.  We still can’t really tell whether they are males or females.  Meanwhile, we’ve mated Licorice and Bear again, and if she’s pregnant, Licorice should kindle the last week of this month.  (By the way, yes, rabbit does taste rather like chicken.  Sounds like a joke or a cop-out, but it’s true.)

4. Several people have asked me lately how school/work is going.  It’s okay.  It’s still tiring because I still have to plan everything from scratch.  I feel like things won’t improve until next year.  And will I still be at this school next year?  Dunno.  If there is an opening in my town’s corporation, I will likely apply for it.  There are benefits and drawbacks to both staying where I am and moving to my town’s district.  I’ve been praying about it and just asking God to make it clear.  I can be content where I am if that’s where God wants me.  There are things I like about this school, but there are things I like better about the schools in my town.  I don’t know what God has for me yet.  I will say that I am thankful to be teaching.  I like this job lots better than that Terrible Job I quit just over a year ago.

5. My friend Connie of The Daisyhead came over on Saturday to help me with some knitting techniques.  We’ve been planning this since December, but then I got sick, and then she got sick, and it just didn’t happen.  Anyway, it was good to hang out with her, get to know her better, and learn how to do some things more neatly than I had been doing  them.  I will now be able to weave in ends and attach a new ball of yarn much better and more neatly than I did before.

6. I ran this morning.  It was crazy cold outside.  My nose hairs were freezing, so I pulled a neckie around my mouth and nose, but breathing into it fogged up my glasses.  I pulled it down, and it was just too cold.  I ended up taking off my glasses.  I don’t see well at all without my glasses, but it was better than having them fogged up, for in that case I couldn’t see at all.  Anyway, I ran about two miles (though I had to take a walk break about half way through) and I’m a little discouraged that I was so tired at the end of it.  I want to run more often.  But it’s cold out and my responsibilities at work are crazy and I’ve just not made the time.  But I know that my brain will work better if I exercise more, so I need to get on that.  (Plus, one perk of my current job is that when I exercise 150 minutes per week for six weeks and turn in a log of that exercise, I can get a $75 Mastercard gift card.  That’s pretty nice.)

7. Most of the time I’m totally okay with the fact that we don’t have kids.  Every once in a while, though, I get sad.  This is a sad day.

8. I think some of my houseplants need to be re-potted, but I’ll probably wait until spring to do that.  I don’t want to bring all the dirt in the house, and it’s too cold to do it on the porch right now.  Hang on until then, Mr. Philodendron.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Congrats on that debt reduction!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

