RSS Feed

Whiny / Thankful

I’ve been feeling kind of whiny the past couple of days, and I’m trying to remind myself that I have a choice to be whiny or thankful.  I still feel whiny, but I’m inching toward thankful.

I’m whiny because I’ve had an earache the last couple of days.  I’m thankful that I have my hearing, and that I have access to good medical care if needed.

I’m whiny because all the other schools in the county got a two hour delay today for the windchill advisory and my school didn’t.  I’m thankful that I have a full time job with benefits.

I’m whiny because it’s cold out and the rabbits’ water keeps freezing and I have to keep thawing and changing it.  I’m thankful that I have easy access to clean, potable water in my home.

I’m whiny because it’s ice carving competition season, which means my husband is away a lot.  I’m thankful that I have a wonderful husband who loves me and is faithful to me and is earning money.

All in all, I know I’ve got a pretty good life.  I just have to remind myself of that every now and then.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Thank you Karen, I needed that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

