RSS Feed

One down, one to go

One Down.

I told Stephan the other day, “It’s about time to butcher the rabbits.”  They are getting really big in their shared cage, and they are just eating a ton of food.  They are technically about market weight now (4.5 to 5 pounds) and I’m not interested in feeding them forever.  So today, Stephan butchered one.  Once he completed the job, he said, “I’ve got to refine my system.  That was more traumatic than it should have been.”  So I gave him my binder full of rabbit information and he perused the section on “dispatching” rabbits.  He’ll try another one next week.

Meanwhile, I’m thinking about when to breed Licorice again.  We want to breed one of the young rabbits, too, but the trouble is that it is incredibly difficult to tell the males from the females.  I feel like it should be a lot more obvious than it is.

One to Go.

In other news, we recently got our zero balance statement for our next to last credit card.  Hooray!  I wrote the company and asked them to close the account.  We have one more credit card to pay off, and Stephan thinks that with the money he won in an ice carving competition this weekend, he’ll be able to pay that one off, too.  I was surprised and very excited since I thought it would be at least summer before we knocked that one out of the way.

When that’s done, I’ll contact Human Resources at work and change my retirement withholdings to 15 percent, plus we’ll increase the amount we pay toward our mortgage.  Additionally, we decided to start a car fund.  My car is okay (although the visit to the shop to repair the radiator hoses revealed that it also needs a serpentine belt and an axle repair) but it’s a 1999 and won’t last forever, so we need to start saving up for another one.

Exciting times!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

