RSS Feed

The End of the Year

Well, we’re almost there.  The end of another year.  The world didn’t end, as some had predicted, and here we are, reflecting on 2012 and pondering how life in 2013 might be different.

Looking back on 2012, I know that I’ve tried some new things.  This year, we cut down our own Christmas tree for the first time ever.  We started raising rabbits.  I quit a terrible job, taking a risk, and re-entered the teaching profession.  We tried snowshoeing.  We traveled to places like Crossville, TN and Grand Haven, MI.  We participated in a community garden.  We planted blueberry bushes and strawberry plants at home.  I learned new things about food preservation, and I canned beets and froze tomato juice.  We joined the missions committee at church.  I turned 37 years old.

What about next year?  What will 2013 hold?

For one thing, I want to spend more time exercising my brain.  I want to spend less time watching television and more time reading good books.  At the moment, I’m tackling Anna Karenina for the third time.  I think I might actually get through it this time.  I think at least I’m farther in it than I’ve gotten before.  I have also started doing online crossword puzzles through the Washington Post.  I want to play more Scrabble and do more jigsaw puzzles.  (This does not mean that I’m completely giving up watching television… but I want to make sure my brain is stimulated and filled with ideas and valuable thoughts.)

There are five months left in this first school year back in the classroom.  It has not been easy, and while I feel I am back in the rhythm of school life and teaching, I can’t quite get comfortable in this particular school’s culture and in creating all my materials from scratch.  Still, I look forward to successfully continuing and completing this school year.  Next school year, if I’m in the same place, at least I’ll have something to go on.  If I’m somewhere different — well, there is only one other school system I would even apply to at this point, and if I do get a job there I will have to start all over to some extent, but I know that it is a much more organized system and I think it would feel less like starting over than this year did.

In 2013, we will eat our home-raised rabbits and breed more rabbits.  Maybe I will build a tree house; I know just where I would put it.  (But power tools frighten me a bit.)  We will make decisions about gardening and try new things (this year, no turnips because we don’t like to eat them, and no corn because it takes up too much room).  I’m pretty sure we’ll pay off that one last credit card in 2013, and when that happens I will likely do a happy dance in the middle of the street.  I think we’ll be more involved in our church.  I hope we’ll get to travel to someplace new.  Most likely, I’ll turn 38 years old.

The past is precious; the future is exciting.  All of it is God’s, and that’s the best thing of all.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Loved this post.
    Impressive list!
    Didn’t know about missions committee involvement, or forgot.
    I wanna see that happy dance!
    I’m looking to set reading goals and I came across this post [http://www.5minutesforbooks.com/29045/set-and-keep-reading-goal-2013/].

    Reply

Leave a Reply

