RSS Feed

It’s that busy time of year

So, we budgeted more money into our “date” fund this month because this is Stephan’s busiest month, and I haven’t really slowed down much since school started, so we’re eating a lot more take-out lately.

But there is good news: we’ve got a freezer full of venison from successful hunting by Stephan and his dad; there is a little extra money to spare right now due to the previously mentioned busy season; all my Christmas shopping is done and my presents wrapped (except for one that I cannot figure out how to wrap!); I have just one more week until Christmas break; and the rabbits are growing well — they are quite big now.

Stephan got an eight-pointer on  his hunting trip!  I think that’s the biggest buck he’s ever gotten.  We are getting the head preserved by a taxidermist so we can save it for posterity.  It won’t be ready until February.  I had no idea it took that long.  In the meantime, we’ve got our freezer packed with ground venison, venison loin, and venison roast.  If anyone knows a good way to cook a venison roast so that it gets tender, let me know.  I haven’t had a lot of luck.  It always still seems to be tough, even after cooking it all day in an acidic sauce.

Since Stephan’s got a lot of business, that means there is a little more money coming in.  And we are down to only ONE credit card that we need to pay off!  Actually, I haven’t seen the zero balance statement from Citibank, but I know that we’ve paid all (or nearly all) of it.  I guess we might get one more statement of a couple of dollars for the interest we didn’t calculate, but I kind of think we should have received that by now.  Anyway, we have the good fortune to be able to be more generous this season than in previous Decembers, and that’s nice.  Stephan’s got a lot to do, though — two sculptures to deliver on Christmas Day, plus two large ice bars for New Year’s Eve, in addition to other jobs in between.  The money’s nice, but this is the time of year I miss my husband a little bit.  He’s making it more of a priority to be home and have free time this year, though, and I appreciate that.

I actually did only a little Christmas shopping online this year.  I don’t enjoy going to stores, especially when they are full of lots of people, and I have been known to purchase all of my gifts via the internet.  Not this year.  I got a couple of things for Stephan online because I didn’t think I’d find them locally, but everything else was purchased at a real live store.  And now they are all wrapped and ready.  I completed that task today.

Ahhh, Christmas Break.  (Officially it’s “Winter Break,” but we all know it’s always scheduled in time for Christmas.)  This is the first extended Christmas break I will have had in at least six years.  I have a lot of lesson planning to do during that time, but I hope also to relax and get my house clean(er) and maybe read a book or something.

Those little rabbits aren’t so little any more.  (I would have taken pictures today, but the SD card for my camera got corrupted somehow, so I can’t take any photos until I get a new card.)  The bunnies are weaned now, so we moved them from their mama’s cage into one of their own.  Also, we bought some new cages with better dropping pans, and today we spent the afternoon cleaning the garage (let me just emphasize the importance of urine guards on rabbit cages), arranging the new cages, hooking up a nifty new watering system, and installing another light in the garage so we can see the rabbits better.  Most of those little guys have just a month or so left to live, so I hope they enjoy their new digs until then.

I do hope you are having a lovely December and are ready to celebrate Christ’s birth in a magnificent way!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

