RSS Feed

Sixteen Days Old

Our baby rabbits are sixteen days old today.

We had thought that Licorice had given birth to six rabbits, and one of them died, leaving five.  But today we discovered another dead one that we’d missed.  On the positive side, though, we found that there are six living bunnies!  So she gave birth to eight instead of six, and six lived.

Baby rabbits look kind of funny when they are born.  Their eyes are closed and they have no hair.  They look kind of like mice.  But by a week and a half, they were getting some nice fur and had opened their eyes.  Today I took some photos because they are just so cute.

They like to snuggle up together.

They like to snuggle up together.

At least two of them are fawn-colored, like their father, Bear.  Others are rather mottled, with some black in them.  We haven't seen any pure black ones like their mother, Licorice.

At least two of them are fawn-colored, like their father, Bear. Others are rather mottled, with some black in them. We haven’t seen any pure black ones like their mother, Licorice.

Cuties!

Cuties!

We’ll take the nest box out in a few days.  I think they are nearly ready for that.  According to I’ve read, the rabbits should be weaned at four weeks and should be at market weight at about eight weeks.  Then we’ll have to figure out which are male and which are female.  It’s not very easy to tell!  You have to feel their bellies for the teats.  The males do not have obvious genitalia at all.

We plan to keep at least one doe for more breeding.  We might sell a couple, but the rest we will butcher.  When they are so cute and soft and cuddly, it makes me not want to butcher them!  But this was the whole reason for having rabbits, so I will need to toughen up.  (And let Stephan do the dirty work.)

Also, I need to call around to see if I can find anyone who will buy the pelts.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. I ended up with the classroom pet, a rabbit, after 6th grade. I named him Peter. But then Peter had babies, so I renamed it Petunia 🙂

    I can only remember eating rabbit once, many years ago. Not something you can typically buy in the store 🙂 We watched Gordon Ramsey’s Ultimate Cookery Course and were amazed at the vast variety of meats you can buy in London!

    I wanted to share a link with you, to a rather unique community garden. Thought you might be interested: http://www.houzz.com/ideabooks/5417747/list?utm_source=Houzz&utm_campaign=u201&utm_medium=email&utm_content=gallery6

    Reply

Leave a Reply

