RSS Feed

Turkey for Thanksgiving, after all

Stephan and I had decided that if we had no baby rabbits with this last breeding (the second one we’d tried), then we were done with these rabbits and would have them for Thanksgiving dinner.

Well, we’ll be eating turkey!

Knowing her due date was close, I’ve been keeping an eye on Licorice the last couple of days.  She seemed to be preparing her nest box, and the other day when Stephan stuck his hand in the box to check for babies, Licorice was quite upset with him.  Today when I got home from work, I heard a scritch scritch scritching from her cage.  At first, I thought she was doing something.  Then I saw the little piles of newspaper and fur in the nest box moving slightly, and I realized the noise was coming from inside.  Licorice was eyeing me from the other side of her cage.

So, we have baby rabbits.  Stephan’s not home yet, so I’m not sure what to do with them.  I think I need to check to see that they are all alive (and remove any dead ones), but I don’t want to upset Licorice too much, so I’m uncertain how to go about it.  I called my nephew for advice (he used to raise rabbits), but he wasn’t home from school and track practice yet.

I’ll just hang on until I know something before I stick my hand in there.  I won’t be eating Licorice, but I don’t want her to eat me, either.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. We think there are six babies, and they all seem to be alive and healthy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

