RSS Feed

One More to Go!

On Saturday, I was at Stephan’s shop, putting all the business and personal receipts into QuickBooks.  I go in every couple of weeks or so to do the books.  Stephan and I work out the personal budget together, and then he pays the bills and I put it all in the computer.  The business stuff is all his, though.  All I do with it is data entry.  That way, though, I still know the financial status of the business, so I’m okay with that.

Stephan was at the shop at the time, and he showed me a check he’d just written.  It was for the final amount on our Citibank credit card.  Hooray!  It’s probably not totally paid off yet, as I’m sure there will be a few dollars in finance charges left to pay, but we’ve pretty much knocked that one out — finally!  I did a small happy dance, but I’ll save my big one until I know there is a zero balance.

We have just one more credit card to go — Frontier World Mastercard or something like that.  It’s hard to say how long that one will take us to pay off.  This is Stephan’s busy season, so he may be getting paid enough in the next couple of months that we can get rid of it quickly.  On the other hand, you never know when other expenses might come up.  We recently had a $400 plumbing repair and a $300 car repair that needed to be done.  (I’m so thankful we had savings for those things!)

And then… once that’s done, we’ll keep following the Dave Ramsey plan.  We’ll make sure we’ve got six months of expenses saved up (which, since we built up our savings account a lot when I quite my Terrible Job, shouldn’t take us too long to do), and then work on contributing to our retirement accounts and paying off the house.

It’s very exciting!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. I’m so glad for you! Keep it up, it’s a wonderful feeling!

    Reply
  2. Yay. Keep it up! We just finished coordinating FPU: 14 graduates!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

