RSS Feed

Done.

On Sunday, November 4, our garden was officially DONE.  As community gardeners, we were required to have all our plant matter removed that day.  It was chilly and the light got dim quite early, but Stephan and I got it done.

We harvested the few Brussels sprouts we had (very tiny ones — they just didn’t grow well), plus some kale and Swiss chard.  And a couple of days later, I found a small pumpkin in our backyard garden.

But I think that’s truly it.  I’m hoping my rosemary plant winters over and we can have fresh rosemary through to next spring, but as for actual gardening, that’s it.

But we can enjoy the things we canned and froze until we’re ready to plant again.  Hooray!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. I need to clean out our little garden plot.
    I already harvested all there was to be had, except for the very sturdy oregano.
    Will it last or come up next year?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

