RSS Feed

Scripture of the Day

Last night at church, the young man (Travis) who was preaching closed his lesson on Jeremiah with this Scripture from Hebrews:

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.  Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.  Hebrews 12:1-3 NIV

This Scripture really hit home with me.  I have been feeling weary lately.  Partly it is my job, I guess, but partly it is our culture.  I just feel worn down.  Tired all the way down to my marrow.  I am ready for Jesus to return!

But Travis reminded me to remain faithful and to persevere.  It is hard, and I need God’s help to do so.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. You speak for a lot of us. I have been feeling what you described for some time now. Not that I don’t enjoy life, for I do. But sometimes I feel like the ‘rat race’ may not be worth it. However, I Peter 5: 6,7 is still in the Book. How wonderful to know that “…He cares for you”

    Reply
  2. The message on my heart: FAITHFULNESS in the small things leads to greater, to making a difference.
    Keep grading those papers and hanging in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

