RSS Feed

How I Spent Fall Break

Just in case you’re interested, this is what I’ve done over the last four days.

1. Graded four sets of “free read” projects and two sets of essays

2. Recorded all those grades, plus more, in the gradebook

3. Went to a celebration of our church’s former pastor (and ate a lot)

4. Planned my lessons for next week and emailed them to administrators

5. Watched a 1983 version of Anton Chekhov’s The Cherry Orchard

6. Started re-reading The Hobbit

7. Washed, dried, folded, and put away four loads of laundry (now I think my dryer is dead… burned out motor, possibly)

8. Went to church and to the church’s Fall Party, to which I took curried couscous with zucchini and onions (a dish I made up right before we left)

9. Had a wonderful date with my husband in which we had breakfast at a coffee shop our friends own, then went hiking

10. With my wonderful husband’s help, rearranged the furniture in my classroom

11. Went on a second little date with my husband, as a reward for getting all that work done in my classroom

12. Knitted (just a little)

13. Ran (not as much as I’d have liked because my hamstrings are sore from hiking)

14. Re-worked all my seating charts for my classes (due to number 10)

15. Cleaned out the rabbits’ pans

16. Vacuumed the rugs

17. Hosted Monday Night Dinner for about a dozen people and cleaned up afterward (mostly… there are still a few dishes on the counter, looking at me)

My break was not as relaxing as I’d have liked, but I got some stuff done and got to hang out with Stephan.  And I have just three days of school until the weekend, so perhaps I can relax a little more then.  And clean the house since I didn’t get to that this weekend.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. Woo! Hoo! What a guy……..and gal.

    Reply
  2. Sounds like my fall break – I wonder how shocked students would be if they knew “vacations” just mean “extra office hours” for teachers. 🙂

    Reply
  3. What a list! Such productivity, yet a good mix of fun and work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

