RSS Feed

I’m Tired.

I’m trying not to bring work home.  But I seem to have a minimum of one meeting a week — a parent meeting, a meeting with the principal about Student Learning Objectives, a faculty meeting.  I have no curriculum so I’m constantly scrambling to get plans and copies and resources and supplies.  I get to work at 6:30 (school starts at 8:00), work through lunch, and stay at school until at least 4:00 and still often have to bring things home.

I feel like I spend nearly all my time planning lessons, communicating with parents, grading papers, and doing paperwork.  Every once in a while I get everything done at work so I can leave my laptop and my papers at school.  In fact, I did that last night.  And then this morning I wondered how on earth I became so behind when I left everything caught up yesterday.

I am thankful for my job and the income and everything.  I am grateful to God for what He has given me.  I have an amazingly supportive husband who helps me all he can and he encourages me.

So I take deep breaths, re-read Scriptures about trusting God and having God’s peace, and try to exercise and get enough sleep.

And I ask people to pray for me.  So would you?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

4 responses »

  1. Yes, we’ll pray!
    Is there simply no curriculum available? Or is the school simply not willing to pay for it?
    I remember back when we started homeschooling and “big boys” (ABeka, etc.) would only sell their materials to Christian schools, leaving home schoolers to do their own thing. It was a struggle each year to pull everything together, but that was kindergarten through early elementary and a LOT easier than what you’re doing!
    I was so relieved when curriculum began to be developed by and for homeschoolers (and the big boys saw the profit potential and began selling to us, too). Made my life a lot easier!

    Reply
    • Well, there are textbooks (though not enough for every student) and state standards, but no outline of what 7th graders and 8th graders are supposed to read, or any resources to help me do it. I’m doing it all from scratch, which is exhausting and overwhelming. When I don’t have to do it for every lesson, it’s fun, but not when I have to create absolutely everything.

      Reply
  2. Done and will continue to do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

