RSS Feed

Teaching

I can finally announce it.  I have a real live, full-time teaching job!  I owe much of it to my friend Sarah and my awesome husband.

Sarah texted me a couple of weeks ago, telling me she’d seen an ad in the paper for a middle and high school English position at a public school that is affiliated with the local university.  I hadn’t seen it because we don’t get the paper, and the job wasn’t posted on the state DOE job board.  I thought to myself that there was no chance I’d even get an interview.  I was sure they would insist on a Master’s degree (which I started 13 years ago and never finished), plus it’s impossible to get a job with the university.  I told Stephan all these thoughts, and he said, “Well, you might as well apply.  You’ve applied for so many jobs already, what’s one more?”

So, grumbling and complaining that it was all for nothing anyway, I printed out all my stuff (because that’s another thing with the university — you can’t apply via email like you can everywhere else) and mailed it off.

Then I got a call for an interview.

I was shocked.  I went to the interview on a Tuesday and thought it went well, but since I’ve thought that 85 percent of the interviews I’ve had in the last year went well, I didn’t expect anything.  Two hours after my interview, the principal called and asked me back for a second interview on Thursday, in which I would teach a 6th grade class a lesson on theme.  I had basically two evenings to prepare, and I worked like crazy.  I got there, and the kids were sharp.  Half way through the class period, I was nearly all the way through the lesson.  While the kids were working in groups, I candidly told the teachers evaluating me, “These kids move a lot faster than what I’m used to.  I’m not sure I can fill 55 minutes.”  One of them gave a suggestion of what to do to fill the time, so I did, and everything ended up okay.  I figured, though, that my lack of material was probably the death knell for any job hopes.  As I left, I mentioned that I had another interview lined up for the following Tuesday, and asked if I might possibly know something by then.  They said they thought that was fair.

That weekend was Labor Day, and I hung out with family and ate a lot and generally enjoyed myself.  I didn’t get a call all weekend, but I figured they might not call until Tuesday morning.  But just as Stephan and I got home and unpacked the car, my phone rang.  The principal offered me the job!  She said that because the school is part of the university, she can only recommend a person for hire, and you have to go through all these hoops in order for the President (or the Provost?) to approve the hire.  So, I’d been hired, but I didn’t feel it was completely certain.  I was told the whole process could take about a week, though the principal was trying to expedite it.

I felt good enough about it to cancel the other interview I had.  But I wasn’t going to give notice or anything.  I filled out the paperwork they requested (for a background check and whatnot) and faxed it to them the Tuesday after Labor Day… and I waited.

Friday, I got an email from the school secretary of the university school.  “When can you start?”  I nearly squealed, right there in my classroom (where I am merely an instructional assistant) and said I would start Wednesday.  I went to my current principal’s office right after school in order to give my verbal notice (I hadn’t had a chance to write a letter yet), but she had left early that day.  My notice would have to wait until Monday.

So I’m scheduling this post for Monday, late morning, because I plan to go to school early Monday morning, corner the principal, and let her know.

I’ll no longer be a part time aide.  I’ll be a full-time teacher, and getting paid three times what I’m bringing home now.

And boy, do Stephan and I have plans!  We want to refinance the house to get a lower interest rate and shorter term.  And we’re going to start attacking that debt snowball again!

Thanks to all of you who prayed for me on this year-long journey back to teaching.  I’m so excited!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

6 responses »

  1. That is wonderful news! Congratulations to you, you certainly deserve it! Wishing you all the best at the new job!

    Reply
  2. And we’re so excited for you!

    Reply
  3. Giving notice was easy as pie. The principal had been called to provide a reference, so she knew it was coming. My aide job is already posted, and I have just one more day of that job.

    Reply
  4. How absolutely wonderful! I’m excited for you, Karen. Hope you are able to transition into the swing of the job easily, and we’ll be praying that the Lord will give you the strength that comes from having His joy.

    Reply
  5. Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!! So glad your persistence paid off at last! Congratulations!

    Reply
  6. That’s wonderful! So happy for you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

