RSS Feed

Things High School Students Say…

It was announced this morning that the high school where I work has been named a Blue Ribbon School.  One of my students exclaimed, “How is that even possible?  Our school has the highest college dropout rate in the area because even kids who do really well here can’t make it in college.”

I asked where she got that statistic.

“Oh, I don’t believe in statistics,” she said.  “That’s just what I think.”

Aaaand, your credibility just plummeted.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like that young lady might have a future in politics. 🙂

    Reply
  2. This is the same girl who told me Dalmatians are going extinct.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

