RSS Feed

Little Tiny Update

I don’t think I’m alone in being in a blogging slump.  Quite a few of the blogs I like have gone weeks with little or nothing new.  Fear not, friends.  I have not quite fallen off the face of the earth.  Here’s what’s happening.

The job is going okay.  In case you forgot, I’m a part-time aide at the local high school, and I work with students who did not pass their 10th grade English assessment.  I’m trying to give those students the skills they need to pass it when they take it again in December.  I have small classes and I really like most of my students.  They say silly things sometimes.  For instance, a girl told me recently that Dalmatians are going extinct.  (I’m pretty sure they’re not.)  A couple of others, on a multiple choice question, said that the main idea of The Fox and the Grapes fable is that “Foxes can’t jump very high.”

 
The garden is winding down… except for maybe the tomatoes.  Stephan still goes out every couple of days and brings home a whole bunch of tomatoes.  The cukes are done, though, as are the squashes.  I think we’ve dug all the potatoes, but there may still be some beets left.  We’ve started talking about next year.  We won’t do corn (takes up too much room) or turnips (they grow well, but we don’t really like to eat them.)  Stephan doesn’t want to do many (any?) squashes next year because they take up a lot of room, too (especially the winter squashes like acorn and pumpkins) but I like them, so I might have to fight for them.  I want to do fewer greens (maybe the same number of varieties, but less of each one) because I have been overwhelmed with greens this year.  Last year we had waaaaay too much lettuce, and this year, we’re drowning in collards and Swiss chard.  I’m sure part of that depends on the weather, too, though.

We’re getting ready to breed our rabbits.  We’ll probably do that this week.  One friend of ours asked how you breed rabbits — light some candles?  put on some mood music?  I replied, “You just put them in the same cage.”  I wanted to ask him, “Have you not heard the phrase ‘breed like rabbits’?”  But I didn’t.  Also, my niece asked, “Do you just put them in the same cage for a few days?”  I said, “You put them in the same cage for about fifteen minutes.”  According to the reading I’ve done, they should mate about three times in those fifteen minutes.  Busy little guys.  Anyway, the doe should kindle (give birth) about 30 days after mating, and the offspring should be market weight (5-6 pounds) about eight weeks later.  So we may have rabbit for Christmas dinner.

Stephan and I have both been running lately.  We go together about three times per week, and sometimes I go another day or two on my own.  On Labor Day, our nephew went running with us… or rather, at the same time as us.  He was at least twice as fast as I was, even if I had run the whole way.  (I stopped to walk with Stephan a bit, because he’s not up to his previous running regimen yet, and to rescue a turtle on the side of the road.)  I think our nephew thinks we’re old and slow.  Well, he’s right.  Besides that, he’s really fast.  In addition to a run, I played Spoons, Euchre, and ping pong, and generally hung out with family and ate really good food over Labor Day weekend.

Things I hope to do soon include re-starting our debt snowball, reading good books, writing more often, and working out more.

What about you?  What have you been doing lately?  What do you hope to do soon?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Sounds like other family members were visiting in Evansville. Fun!
    Like you, I plan to write more.
    Next week we hope to get in our annual tandem camping trip.
    Ladies Bible studies are starting up this week too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

