RSS Feed

The First Daze of School

I went into school last Monday to talk to the principal about my position as a remediation aide, since when she hired me she didn’t really give me any details.  Tuesday I worked on getting my room in order a bit, and Wednesday was a day full of meetings.

There was a desk in my room that had been pulled from storage, and heaven knows how long it had been there.  Inside, I found a curriculum for Business Applications, for use with the Apple II Microcomputer.  And, there was this:

Anybody remember these?

I also found five tennis balls (I passed them on to the PE department), about 20 smaller floppy discs (circa the 1990’s), a staple gun (donated to the prom committee), and a lot of other stuff that went into the trash.

On Thursday and Friday I met my students.  I have quite a job ahead of me.  I have about 20 students who failed their End of Course Assessment in English, which they must pass in order to graduate from high school.  Some of them need help in reading comprehension.  Others need help in writing.  Some need help in both.  My lessons will have to be very individualized, and I have a hodgepodge of resources to choose from — basically, just stuff the English teachers pulled from their shelves and the book room.  Some of it looks useful.  Some of it doesn’t.  Most of it I haven’t had time to look at carefully.

In addition to these students, I have several sections of study hall.  I hate monitoring study hall.

It’s a big job, and there is kind of a lot of pressure to make sure these kids pass.  Some of them are simply not ever going to pass, no matter how many times they retake the test.  A lot of them have a shot at passing.  But knowing what tools to give them and what activities to use to accomplish the task is going to be a lot of work to determine.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. I see why they chose You for this daunting job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

