RSS Feed

As Jon Bon Jovi Said…

Posted on

I never did line up a full time teaching position for this school year.  I had four interviews in three months, and was told three of those times that it had been between me and one other person, and that other person got the edge on me every time.

It has been frustrating.  Discouraging.  And I have been thinking about our finances a lot.

Being an aide doesn’t pay much, and of course being a part time aide pays even less and offers no benefits like paid time off or health insurance.  And while we made it almost all summer without having to dip into our savings account, I’m not sure how things will play out for the school year.  When I have a complete paycheck (as in, two full weeks of working), I will bringing home roughly half of what I made in my Terrible Job.  And there is at least one day off every month of school — for Labor Day, Fall Break, Christmas Break, President’s Day, and so on.

I was considering it, and I thought to myself, well, we’ll be livin’ on a prayer.  After all, “we’ve got each other, and that’s a lot.”  And we’ve got God, and that’s even more.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. I don’t know about Jon Bon Jovi, but I like what you said.

    Reply
  2. I can understand where you’re coming from. Would not want to go back there, but it was good for us, and taught us to depend on the Lord and each other. Blessings to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

