RSS Feed

Crazy Eights: 20

Posted on

1. There is a spider who likes to make a web that blocks the door to the deck.  Every couple of days, if we want to go out that door, we have to knock the web down.  Sorry, little spider.  I respect your need to eat, but you gotta respect my need to get out to my yard.  When you pay the mortgage on this place, you can build your web wherever you like, okay?

2. I’ve submitted three job applications in the past week.  I am thankful that I do have an aide position lined up for the fall, but I really, really want a teaching position.  I’ve been praying a whole lot.  I know that God will put me exactly where he wants me, and if he wants me aiding, I will find a way to be content with that.  But I really desire to be teaching.

3. In case you haven’t heard, there’s a drought on.  Stephan and I try to get out to the garden every couple of days or so to water.  I get very, very excited when rain comes, even though those times are few and far between and don’t last long when they are here.  In spite of the exceptionally dry weather, our garden is doing pretty well.  We have lots of tomatoes, quite a few cucumbers, several acorn squash, and a handful of banana peppers, along with some potatoes and onions, zucchini, and beets and turnips.  On Monday I served a meal with ingredients almost entirely from our garden: sliced tomatoes, grilled acorn squash, grilled potatoes & onions with rosemary, cucumber salad.  It was so yummy.  I can hardly even imagine how plentiful our garden will be when we get adequate rain.  Of course, I don’t know if there will be a community garden next year, and if there is, I don’t know if we’ll be able to have three plots.  We’ll have to wait and see, I guess.

4. There are very few things that are good about a drought.  However, those things include the following: a.) My dogs have not been tracking mud into the house.  b.) I can hang laundry on the line pretty much any day of the week without worrying about watching the sky for rain.

5. I feel like I’m finally getting used to having so much free time this summer.  Stephan says I’m a lot more relaxed than I had been when I was working at my Terrible Job.  Of course, that’s not saying much because the Terrible Job tied me up in knots.  For the first couple of weeks after school was out (meaning that substitute teaching jobs dried up) I kind of wandered around the house, not sure what to do with myself.  Well, I’ve got things figured out now.  Each day I do some or all of the following: exercising, reading, house cleaning, gardening, baking, knitting, knocking down spider webs, laundry.  I have had a lot more time to spend with God, too.  Still, I am ready to get back to working again.

6. In spite of my not having a lot of work this summer (I temped for four whole days), we have not yet had to dip into our savings, and for that I am so thankful.  Just when money was getting really tight with Stephan’s business and he thought we were going to have to pull from savings, two jobs came through for him.  God really does take care of us so well.  I am really hoping that we can get through until my job (whatever job that might be) starts paying me regularly, and not have to take from our savings.

7.  We put off paying on the debt snowball when I left my Terrible Job.  We’ve been paying minimums, but not more.  I am chomping at the bit to get back to paying that debt down more aggressively.   That’s another reason I am praying for a full time teaching position; the income would really help us to pay off those debts more quickly.  And I’m really super sick of being in debt.  I can’t even tell you how much.

8.  Don’t let the name fool you.  Turkey bacon does not really taste like bacon.  It’s not bad for what it is, but it’s not bacon.

 

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

6 responses »

  1. You are right about # 8.

    Reply
  2. another good thing about the drought is no skeeters!

    Reply
  3. Maybe that spider is dispensing incredible wisdom to Griffin and Gracie – and then you knock her web down! Start looking for messages…

    Reply
  4. Came across a beet recipe I thought you might like 🙂 Here’s the link to the recipe: http://www.publicradio.org/columns/splendid-table/recipes/beets_with_greek_garlic_sauce.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

