RSS Feed

Taking Steps Toward Rabbits

Posted on

A couple of weeks ago (just as I was realizing that my fear of adding responsibilities was rooted in my own selfishness) Stephan let me know that he’d found a rabbit hutch on craigslist.  It was supposed to be large and hold nine adult rabbits.  The only problem was that the floors were wooden and I really wanted floors of hardware cloth for ease of clean-up.  Stephan was about to pass on it, but the gal said she had another hutch made for two adult rabbits that did have a hardware cloth floor.  So we decided to go look at them both.

We drove a couple of hours into a touristy area of Indiana, and our directions took us decidedly OUT of the touristy part.  A run-down trailer home with a junk-filled yard was our destination.  The gal took us to the back and showed us the nine-hole hutch, which for some reason was made out of OSB and was really heavy but not in great condition.  (She didn’t even clean it out before trying to sell it.  It still had straw and mess inside.)  Stephan decided it was not a wise purchase, but we took a look at the two-hole hutch.  It also was not great-looking and had some rust on parts of the wire, but it was a decent price and would at least get us started.  After touring the woman’s yard (home to peacocks, a dog, and lots of rabbits of at least two different types, all of which looked better cared for than the home that the people live in) we loaded up and headed home (stopping at a Mexican restaurant on the way because I’ve been craving Mexican food lately.)

At home, Stephan started building shelves for the hutch and for future hutches and supplies.

I had pretty much decided on New Zealand rabbits

New Zealand white rabbit. Image courtesy bunniez.hubpages.com

or maybe Californians

Californian rabbit. Image courtesy gopetsamerica.com

but after talking with my sister and nephew, who used to raise rabbits for 4-H, I’m thinking about maybe Florida Whites.

Florida White rabbit. Image courtesy Florida White Rabbit Breeders Association

Florida Whites are smaller than New Zealands and Californians, but still have a good meat ratio.  Also, I was told that sometimes the rabbits are born piebald (with black splotches) and those can’t be shown because the standard is white.  But they can certainly be bred and of course they can be eaten.  So I might be able to acquire some piebald Florida Whites at a cheaper price.  We’ll see.

The State Fair is coming up in a few weeks, and we might go see what we can learn in the Rabbit Barn.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. Becoming quite the farmers.

    Reply
  2. I’m afraid we confused you! Dwarf hotots are the ones that are sometimes piebald….and you can’t eat those. Well, I guess you could, but there’s so little meat there it wouldn’t be worth the effort.

    Reply
    • Ah, I see. That was confusing. I’m not interested in raising any rabbits that aren’t good eating. But I’m glad you told me that before I started talking to some breeder about piebald Florida Whites. They’d have thought I was pretty dumb. (:

      Reply

Leave a Reply

