RSS Feed

Community Garden: Early July

Posted on

As in any situation with people involved, community gardening can sometimes get messy.  In the past couple of weeks, Stephan and I had expressed concerns about a task the town had committed to and started, but not finished.  Stephan had asked if the town was going to complete it or if we were expected to help.  Everyone was told that the town would finish it by the end of the week.  That didn’t happen, so a week later I asked if they were planning to finish it.  The organizer of the community garden then sent out an email to everyone (though it really felt aimed at Stephan and me) saying that this is a COMMUNITY garden and everyone should pitch in and help out and to remember how much the town has already done for us.  I felt like he was scolding us, and I was none too happy about it.  He also (rather haughtily, I thought) said that he went out and finished the work, and I felt he was kind of implying that we would rather complain than just pitch in and get it done.  In my opinion, the issue is one of communication.  If we were told, “Hey, the town started this project but isn’t going to have time to complete it, and it would be great if everyone could help out,” Stephan and I would have been happy to do so.  But when you tell me that the town is going to do it and then the town doesn’t do it, please don’t scold me for asking questions about it.

All in all, it hasn’t been bad, but there are certainly issues in gardening with other people, and it sometimes makes me think how nice it will be someday when we have land on which we can garden by ourselves.

But on to the photos!

We have ears on our corn.

I have heard that raccoons will skulk around and sniff the corn, and when it’s ripe, the coons will eat the corn.  We haven’t had trouble with raccoons at the garden so far, and I hope we won’t start to when the corn ripens.

We got a couple of nice big acorn squashes late last week.

Stephan grilled one the other day, and it was really good.

We’re still getting a lot of beets, and the tomatoes are ripening nicely!

I’m trying to decide whether to can some of the beets.  We have a ton of them.  I don’t like pickled beets, but I could can them without pickling them.  My sister gave me a Ball Blue Book of Preserving, so I might have to peruse the section on beets to get some ideas.

The tomatoes are starting to come quickly, too, so we’ll have to decide what to do there.  The cherry tomatoes are sweet, and we have a variety of larger tomatoes, too.  Perhaps we can cook them down into spaghetti sauce.  We could probably either freeze or can it if we did that.

I’ll take any ideas on preserving that you have.  We’ve been giving away a lot of produce, but I’d love to be able to preserve some for the winter.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. Salsa! First thing I thought of, because I’m craving me some salsa right now and am out of luck. We can’t buy it, and right now since it’s winter, we can’t make it either. So sad.

    Here’s a link to canning beets (not pickled ones): http://www.pickyourown.org/beets_canning.htm

    Enjoy the fruits of your labors!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the link! I was looking through our books today and found that we now own THREE books on food preservation. I was soooo excited! It looks like most of the recipes for canning beets are very similar.

      Oooo, salsa. I hadn’t thought of that. We do have onions we could use, though our pepper plants are looking pretty pitiful. I’ll definitely have to keep that idea in mind!

      Reply
  2. Lovely blond ears.
    I may find some preserving recipes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

