RSS Feed

The Perfect Excuse

Posted on

I had this big plan for the summer to deep clean my house.  I would do one room per month (or, in the case of a couple of small rooms, two in a month.)  It hasn’t happened, but it’s not entirely my fault.

Stephan refinished the wood floors in the TV room and the dining room this spring, and that created a lot of dust.  He had moved all the furniture, too.  So I figured that since the floors were now pristine and we cleaned up all the dust and I washed the curtains, that pretty much took care of deep cleaning those two rooms.

He has plans to refinish the wood floors in the living room and the south bedroom.  And when he does, that will involved moving furniture and then cleaning up all the dust afterward, plus washing curtains, etc.  This task has been postponed because it costs a lot to rent a floor sander, which is what he needs to get started.  And I don’t want to deep clean just to have everything dustified when he does get to the refinishing.  So those two rooms are put off.

The west bedroom was next on the list.  When our niece moved out this spring, I put off deep cleaning that room because she’d done a pretty good job of cleaning as she packed.  But the carpet still needs to be shampooed, so I was dreading thinking about getting all the furniture moved so that I could take care of that.  And then, when I was rearranging some things, I found out that the plaster in the closet has started to fall down.  (Our house is 93 years old, so most of the walls and some of the ceilings are plaster.  In each upstairs closet, the plaster on the slanted ceilings has cracked and fallen; I guess it’s because the closets aren’t insulated well and the temperature changes over the years have dried out the plaster or something.  Stephan put drywall in the south bedroom a few years ago, and did the east bedroom last year.  Now it’s time to do the west bedroom.)  So when we are cutting Sheetrock and mudding and all that fun stuff, I figure the bedroom is going to get a little messy, so why deep clean now?

And the east bedroom… well, that’s our bedroom.  And I don’t really have a good excuse for failing to deep clean it, except that it would be a real pain to move out of it for a week or so while I move all the furniture and shampoo the carpets and wash the curtains and then put everything back.  Besides, I really want to rip out the carpet in both the east and west bedrooms and refinish the wood floors in those rooms, too.

So will any deep cleaning get done this year?

I guess it depends on how well my excuses stay intact.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Great job talking yourself out of those silly goals 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

