RSS Feed

Berries, Berries, Berries

Posted on

At home, we’ve got a raspberry bush, two blueberry bushes, and some strawberry plants.

Our strawberries came and went about a month ago, and I thought they were totally done for the season.  But what to my wondering eyes should appear, but another strawberry!

Plus, the plants are sending out runners.  Go, little strawberry plants!  I just have to keep checking to make sure the runners stay inside the wagon instead of hanging over the edge.

One of our blueberry bushes, the Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry, has some berries on it.  But they seem to have stopped growing, and they aren’t getting any more ripe, either.  We’ve never grown blueberries before, so I’m not sure what’s going on here.

Our other blueberry bush, a Pink Lemonade Blueberry, didn’t bloom this year.  I’m  hoping maybe it will next year.

The red raspberry bush seems to be doing well.  We had about six raspberries on it last week that were almost ripe.  When I went back to check on them in hopes of picking them, I found that some critter had eaten them!  The nerve!  I suspect either birds or squirrels.  So I found some netting in my basement and covered the bush to protect the berries.  I might have one more berry growing there, but I think it might be done for the season.

Here’s hoping for lots more berries next year!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

