RSS Feed

Community Garden: Late June Update

Posted on

Goodness!  It’s been quite an adventure having sooo much garden space.  This is just our third year gardening, and our first year with so much room, plus our first year with full sun, and we’re getting an enormous amount of produce.  Some people have asked if we were weighing it like we did last year (when we got around 100 pounds from our tiny partially shaded backyard garden), but we are not.  First of all, our scale isn’t working so well (it’s an electronic one and it’s kind of flaking out).  But also, there’s just so much!  And we’re giving a lot away — to other community gardeners and to family and friends.

Stephan brought home another harvest on Monday.

We got our first potatoes…

some cherry tomatoes, a few tiny bits of broccoli (which, when cooked in a risotto, tasted bitter.  Could this be because of the hot weather and scant rain?)

a couple of zucchini and a yellow squash…

cucumbers…

more beets…

and lettuce and Swiss chard and collard greens.

Beautiful!

 

Back in the garden, we’ve got a few acorn squash growing (my camera was not focused correctly, but you can see one of them in the background there)…

 

and a pumpkin or two.

The cucumbers are climbing up the fence (another photo that could have benefited from better focusing, but give me a break, it wasn’t even seven in the morning when I took these)…

and our corn is tasseling.

I’ve never grown corn before, so I got really excited to see the tassels on the corn.  Probably inordinately excited.  I mean, it’s not like a did a dance or anything, but I did get pretty darned excited.

I don’t even really know what it means when the corn tassels.  But it’s doing something.  And that is cause enough for excitement.

For me, anyway.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. I wish I had the knowledge or work ethic to garden. I am jealous of your produce. 🙂

    Reply
    • The knowledge comes from just trying things. This is just our third year gardening, and we are definitely still learning! The work ethic is definitely an issue though… especially in a drought! We have to get out and water every couple of days, and we’re not allowed to use hoses at the community garden.

      Reply
  2. Amazing growth since we visited!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

