RSS Feed

Professional Reading

Posted on

In preparation for re-entering the classroom, I went to the library and found some books on education.  (I was inspired to do so by Krystal from Lessons From the Middle in this post.)

Teach Like a Champion by Doug Lemov

Autism in your Classroom by Deborah Fein and Michelle A. Dunn

Challenging the Gifted Child by Margaret Stevens

How to Handle Difficult Parents by Suzanne Capek Tingley

I finished Teach Like a Champion the other day.  It had some good ideas in it, but a lot of it seemed more appropriate for elementary school than high school.  Also, with his regimented style, the author did not seem to take into account having special needs students in the classroom.  Still, there were a couple of nuggets I wrote down for future reference.

I just started the book on autism.  I don’t have an opinion on it yet as it’s just providing a basic understanding of what autism is and explaining the autism spectrum.

The book on gifted children looks like it might be aimed more at elementary school teachers, so I don’t know whether I will find that one helpful.

And difficult parents?  Who has to deal with difficult parents?  Surely not!  Ahem… yeah, I’ve had my share of difficult parents (including one, my first year of teaching, who made sure to let me know that he was a teacher, too, and had won some kind of awards for his teaching.  Sheesh).

How much professional development do you do on your own for your work?  I’m curious.  Tell me in the comments!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Well, I took three books from school to browse through at coffee time this summer.

    “Teaching Kids With Learning Difficulties in the Regular Classroom” (Winebrenner)

    “Differentiating Instruction in a Whole Group Setting” (Hollas)

    “The Teacher’s Toolbox for Differentiated Instruction” (Tilton)

    Can you tell what I hope to improve on for next year;) Good luck with your summer reading!

    Krystal

    PS: Thanks for the shout out for Lessons From The Middle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

