RSS Feed

Holy Turnip Seeds, Batman!

Posted on

This spring, when we were deciding what to grow in our garden, we looked through some seeds that we had leftover from last year.  We weren’t sure if they would still be good or not, but we figured we weren’t losing anything by planting them.  So when we had space for one more row in one of our plots and a packet of turnip seeds from last year, we decided to plant turnips.

Let me tell you, the seeds were good.

And this is after we gave away turnips to a couple of other folks who were watering their gardens at the same time we were.

Some of them were pretty big, too, even though the plants were still very crowded.  (Turnip seeds are so small that it’s hard to space them well when you plant them.)

Here they are, with the greens cut off and the turnips all washed up.

What a pretty color!  We also washed up all the greens and we’ll cook them at some point.

We also got some Swiss chard, a little bit of broccoli (which isn’t producing as much as I’d like, but we get a little here and there) and some peas.  A few of the peas are ours, but some of them we received in trade from the other gardeners for the turnips and chard we gave them.

We also got quite a few beets, which I’m soooo excited about.  I just re-discovered beets last year.  I thought I didn’t like them, but I realized that I just don’t like pickled beets.  I love beets that are cooked with just butter and salt.  Delicious!

Stephan was told that you can cook beet greens just like you can cook turnip greens, so we’ll be trying that, too.

I’m so pleased with our garden this year, in spite of the lack of rain.

Now, I’m off to Google some recipes for greens.  And turnips.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve been googling recipes and learning about new garden produce I’d never heard of. Fun!

    Reply
  2. One of our favorite ways is to cook the beets, peel and slice (I like matchbook size pieces), cool to room temp and toss with salt, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. You can also separately do the same to carrots, then mound side-by-side on a plate for a very pretty salad combo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

