RSS Feed

Community Garden: Late May Update

Posted on

In spite of the lack of rain, our gardens look really good.  Stephan’s been out watering about twice a week, and he really gives it a good soak when he’s there.  (Sometimes I help, too.)  Almost everything is looking really nice.

We harvested these green onions a few days ago.

 

And the rest of the onions in the garden are looking very healthy.

The potatoes are flowering.

The beets are looking good.

The squashes are just starting to flower.

Heads of broccoli are beginning to form.

We think the corn will easily be knee high by the Fourth of July.

Something is eating our bean leaves.  This is the case with everyone’s beans at the community garden.  I looked, but didn’t see bugs on them, so I can’t identify what’s doing it.  We can’t spray them with Sevin or anything like that because we must be organic.  Any ideas on what to do?

The peppers are about to flower.

And today, Stephan counted 26 tomatoes!

Even some of the frost-damaged tomatoes came back and are doing well.

We’ll probably have lettuce for salads soon.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. Jeff says that marigolds are often good at keeping pests away.

    Reply
    • Yes, I’ve heard that, too. We had some marigold seeds, but Stephan didn’t want to “waste” the garden space! I put them in pots at home, but while I have leaves, I don’t have flowers on them yet. Hmmm.

      Reply
  2. Great photos. Much progress since we saw the garden last week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

