RSS Feed

Summer’s Here

Posted on

Even though the meteorological summer doesn’t start for a few more weeks, Memorial Day is past, school’s out for most of the corporations in the area, and I’ve got a bit of a tan, so I say summer’s here.

And because school is out, that means my source of income has dried up for the next two and a half months.  I’ll still get one more small paycheck for working the last couple of days of school, but it won’t be much.  I’ve got my name on the list for two temp services, but for some reason I don’t hold out a lot of hope there.

Stephan’s been busy with ice sculptures the past couple of weeks, and he may do some roofing this summer as well.  Thankfully, our garden is growing well, which will ease our grocery bill (and make our tummies happy!)

There are two things that are helping to keep me from panicking about how we’ll make it through the summer.  The first is that we do have savings.  I hope not to have to use much of it, but it’s there if we need it.

The second is that God asked me to trust him.  And I believe he won’t let us down.

I don’t know what that will look like, and it might not be what we imagine.  But I think he’ll take care of us.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Indeed He will. Twill be exciting to see in how many ways.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

