RSS Feed

Plan C = Plan A

Posted on

Earlier this week, there was a big package on our porch.  “What’s this?” I asked Stephan, since it was addressed to him.

“Lights for aquaponics,” he replied.

I was confused.  I had thought the plan was to use a greenhouse so that we wouldn’t have to have lights (or at least not as many, since we might eventually need supplemental lighting.)

“Oh,” Stephan said when I told him this.  “I guess I didn’t let you in on my entire thought process.”

Basically, after doing a lot of reading and research, he realized that building a greenhouse was in fact going to be more expensive than purchasing lights, and while he still wants to do that eventually, he feels that at this time, it makes more sense to get started in our room above the garage, where we’d be planning to have the set-up all along.

So now we have lights.  We have grow beds, the fish tank, air pumps, and a heater.  We still need grow media, but Stephan knows where he is going to get it.  Then we’ll need seedlings, and a couple of months later, the fish.  There is a local aquaponics operation that will sell us tilapia fingerlings (baby fish) at the best price we’ve found.

I’m starting to feel like maybe we might be possibly almost there.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Very exciting! Keep us posted on how it goes. Ivan still wants to try that, once we’ve finished building and are settled in the new place — which could be a couple years 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

