RSS Feed

Great weather for gardening

Posted on

Finally, we’ve gotten some much-needed rain, and things are coming up in the garden like crazy!  Stephan and I walked over to the community garden this afternoon, and we were very excited about what we saw.  I didn’t think to take my camera with me, so I don’t have any photos to share, but I will tell you what we saw.

First, the tomatoes aren’t totally lost.  A few plants were obviously dead — we’ll have to start over with the Sunsugar variety since none of them survived — but several of the others seemed to be coming back pretty well.

About three or four corn plants are coming up, as well as some summer squash and zucchini.  The turnips, beets, spinach, and lettuces are coming up, and the potatoes and onions look fantastic!  There are a couple of pumpkins, acorn squashes, and cucumber plants popping out.

At home, we’ve got two strawberries that have turned red, and I think there are two blooms on the raspberry bush.  It also looks like our new blueberry bushes are about to bloom.

Hooray for produce!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

