RSS Feed

Rethinking Aquaponics

Posted on

As we’ve been doing some gardening over the past couple of years, we’ve learned some things.  First, our back yard is in only partial sun, so some things don’t grow well there.  The community garden is in full sun, but is more exposed to wind and frost.

In conjunction with those things we’ve learned, Stephan has been thinking about aquaponics.  The space we were planning to do it in is not heated, and it would need grow lights.  Stephan started thinking that putting the operation in a greenhouse would at least eliminate the need for lighting.  He asked what I thought about it.  I said, “Well, I’m guessing it would cost more initially, but then the electricity costs would be lower.”  Stephan said that actually, the initial cost would not be that much higher because he was planning to get LED lights which are pretty expensive.  (The LED lights would have a lower electricity cost than fluorescent lights.)

So, the plan at this point is to put a greenhouse into the space where our little backyard garden was the past two summers.  That means a lot of moving of all the stuff Stephan built and assembled in the space above our garage.  I’ll take photos as we get there and start working on this project again.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. LED lights are expensive or inexpensive?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

