RSS Feed

Enough Excuses

Posted on

When I was working my Terrible Job, I was so stressed out and exhausted that I didn’t feel I had the energy to run when I got home from work.  Then, when I started substitute teaching, it became difficult to know when to run because my schedule became erratic.  But I have decided that I’m done making excuses!  The number on the scale is getting higher than I’d like, and more importantly, I don’t feel as healthy as I want to.  So I’m making a commitment to run and walk more often.

My shoes are pretty bad right now, and I need to buy new ones.  I’m saving up for them, but I’m not going to let it keep me from getting started.  I just have to be careful not to get shin splints or other problems from these old shoes.  Right now, I’m running about 10 miles per week.  If I feel too tired when I get home from school, I just wait an hour or two and then make myself get up and go.  The days are long enough now that I can run as late as 7pm or so and still be okay. I’m planning to increase to at least 20 miles per week by the end of the summer.

Also, I’m walking a lot more than I used to.  Whenever I do work, I walk there.  It’s a mile to the high school and about half a mile to the middle school.  Then, I decided that after I run, walking the dogs for a mile is a nice cool down.  (Not that running two miles requires a significant cool down, but it’s a good habit to get into for when I am running farther… and the dogs really like it!)

The increased activity is making me RAVENOUS, though!  Eating more healthfully is also on my list.  I’m a huge fan of cheese and crackers, but I decided to try to avoid as many processed foods as I can, and crackers are processed.  I bought a jar of unsalted, dry roasted peanuts instead.  Stephan thought it was weird (he doesn’t seem to like dry, crunchy snacks) but I kind of like them.  I’m taking it slowly on the whole processed foods thing, but I’ve stopped buying canned soups — I used to get cream of chicken or cream of mushroom soups for use in casseroles, but now I just try to make my own cream soups when I need them.  I’ve started making my own bread more often, as well, and we use that instead of store-bought bread.

Give me more suggestions.  What do you do to stay healthy?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Ten miles or twenty, that’s great.
    Maybe after my twice a week exercise program with TU students is over i will start running.
    On the other hand, I may not be terribly motivated ’cause i will still have zumba and water aerobics, and probably a weekly tandem ride.

    We snack on nuts all the time.

    Reply
  2. Today was the first day I’ve gone to the gym in maybe two months. I only had twenty minutes but I made myself go to try to start the healthy habit again. I think the biggest thing for me in staying healthy is just planning ahead. If I don’t have a snack along, I get nervous about not having anything to eat if I get hungry and I end up getting bad food and eating it just to avoid the risk of getting hungry. (Does that even make sense?) Anyway, good for you… returning to healthy habits. You’ve inspired me again today. Thanks for that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

