RSS Feed

Trucks should not be considered immune to the rules of grammar

Posted on

Every now and then, I see a plumbing truck in my town.  On the side, it says

A straight flush “beat’s” a full house!

Yep — in one little word, there are TWO punctuation errors.  Ugh.  I wish I’d had my camera with me when I saw it last so that I could prove it to you with a photo.

However, on a recent trip to deliver an ice sculpture with Stephan, I did have my camera with me and captured this run-on sentence:

Or… maybe it isn’t a run-on sentence.  Maybe it means “Call the experts whom we can help.”  But then, who are those experts?  What is their number?  Why did they need help?

No, I’m gonna stick with run-on sentence.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. …and ice sculpture…?
    The Grammar Nazzi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

