RSS Feed

A Substitute’s Schedule

Posted on

I have realized something about myself:  I work best with a schedule.  If I have a pretty definite schedule, I tend to get more things done, including the things I want to do — not just the things I have to do.

But with substitute teaching, I’m never certain until about 6:30 in the morning whether I’m working that day.  Sure, there are some times when I know in advance.  Actually, most of the days I’ve worked, I’ve known in advance.  I had eleven days in April scheduled in advance, and there has been just one day so far this month when I got a call at 6:00 asking me to work.  But on the days when I’m not scheduled, there’s always a chance they’ll call me in.

So I don’t plan anything for the day.  I have some ideas of what I could do if I’m not working, but I don’t really plan it.  For instance, I knew that if I was not working today I would apply for a teaching position at a school about a half hour away from here, write and schedule some blogs, and do some house cleaning.  But it’s hard to make myself go for a run or walk the dogs or sit down to knit a while.  I just feel out of sorts.

Being completely bound by a schedule isn’t fun, either, and I do like that I have some flexibility.  But I like to know what to expect, and with subbing, I don’t have that security.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. I like having a schedule too.
    So God sent me to Argentina. HAHAHA
    Where we almost never have a schedule.
    Oh, we might make one up, but as to actually being able to follow it? Whole ‘nother ballgame.
    But I totally understand what you’re saying!

    Reply
  2. Even in retirement, it helps to have a schedule, or maybe I should say, especially in retirement!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

