RSS Feed

Gardening: the home project

Posted on

Last spring, we tried a lot of new things in our garden.  We cleared spots that we thought might work but weren’t sure about.  We tried straw bale gardening.  And based on our experiences, Stephan has made some decisions.

First, he’s not doing the straw bale gardening this year.  It wasn’t that productive.  Also, the main reason he did it, I think, was to get garden space in places where the ground wasn’t suitable.  The problem was that those places also didn’t have enough sunlight.  So he’ll put the leftover straw in the spaces between the rows in the other gardens (to help keep down the mud when we’re walking through).

Also, our home garden isn’t going to be as big.  Again, this has mostly to do with the sunlight issue.  We have a lot of trees, especially in our back yard, so it’s hard to get enough sun for the plants.  Stephan’s going to focus on one small area in the back, plus the spots in the community garden.

The front of the house faces west and gets much better sun exposure.  So there, we’ll have pots of herbs (basil, rosemary, thyme, cilantro, and maybe some parsley).  We have a raspberry bush that I was given last year, and it seems to be growing pretty well now.  I don’t know if we’ll get fruit this year, but maybe next year.  We’ll also put some potted blueberry bushes out front.

And I know I haven’t put any pictures up in a long time.  I’m going to try to remedy that.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Good luck with your gardening this year. My garden in Maine isn’t as big as I would like because of sun issues as well. We get a lot of afternoon shade from large pine trees so I have limited space where tomatoes will do well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

