RSS Feed

Sitting on the Bench

Posted on

Last week, Stephan said that he was going to build a bench on the deck.  Apparently this was my idea last summer.  I don’t really remember suggesting that, but it was a great idea.  And Stephan did a super job of building it.  First I measured for him, and then he designed the whole thing in Corel.  We went to Menards and bought all the lumber and screws, and then he spent a few hours on Saturday putting it together.

Ta da!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

4 responses »

  1. That saw is aimed menacingly at your head in the last photo! Aaaaaahhhhhh!!!

    Reply
  2. Lovely!
    And the bench looks pretty good too 🙂
    Stephan did a great job!
    Are you going to stain the bench, or just leave it natural? Varnish to protect it from the elements? Or is there some cool product I don’t even know about that you can apply to keep it looking good year after year?
    I think, for us, the way to go at the new place will be permanent benches in a few spots that cannot easily be removed by thieves (a big problem here). Or something so heavy that the sheer weight would deter them (like concrete).
    We shall see…

    Reply
    • Kim, it’s treated wood, so it shouldn’t need anything more to keep it protected from the elements. We’re planning to just leave it as it is, and when we get our deck power washed every few years, they’ll do the bench, too. I think they do put some kind of sealant on it when they power wash it, though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

