RSS Feed

Fund Raising and Cutie Pies

Posted on

When I was a kid and I had to do door-to-door fund raising for school, I memorized a whole spiel:  “Hi, my name is Karen and I go to Oak Hill Middle School.  We are raising money for a new computer lab.  Would you be interested in helping by buying some cheese and sausage?”  (It was always cheese and sausage.  I don’t know why.)

So when a little pipsqueak comes to my door and says, “Do you wanna buy a raffle ticket?” and doesn’t give me any more information, it’s pretty easy for me to say no.  Sometimes I’ll start asking questions, like, “How much are tickets?  What are you raising money for?  What can I win in the raffle?  Do I have to be present at the drawing in order to claim my prize?”  (You know, all the questions that should have been answered when the child asked me to purchase in the first place.)  But sometimes, like last week, I had too much going on to worry about educating a tiny salesperson.

But then, some days, the little cuties just get you.  Stephan and I walked into Rural King on Friday to shop for herb plants, bird seed, mosquito killer, and to peruse the rabbit supplies (hutches and feed.)  We were immediately stopped by the cutest little boy in a Cub Scout uniform who said, “Would you like to buy a ribbon for cancer?  They’re only a dollar!” and he flashed a sweet little nervous grin.  I was trying to understand exactly what the money was going for (turns out it’s for the Walk for Life in a nearby small town — a concept I still don’t completely understand, but that’s beside the point) so I said, “Is the money for cancer research?”  Cutie Pie replied, “No, it’s for cancer.”  Trying not to crack up, I said to Stephan, “I think we probably have an extra dollar, don’t we?”  And we handed over four quarters to our little friend.

All evening we kept saying, “Is it for cancer research?  No, it’s for cancer.”  Oh my.  Too funny.

And THAT, my friends, is how you sucker me out of a dollar for your fund raiser.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Chuckling 🙂
    I’d rather flat out give a donation than have to buy a product. Most of the time. Except when it comes to Girl Scout cookies. Then I WANT THE PRODUCT. hahaha
    I sold so many things over the years, and never enjoyed any of it. I’m just not a very good sales person. And I don’t have a lot of patience for other not-very-good sales people either. But, yeah, the cuties will get you every time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

