RSS Feed

Ready, Freddy.

Posted on

Something about spring makes me want to get to work on stuff!  I want new projects.  Of course, looking toward a summer where I won’t be working 40+ hours a week is nice, too, and I know I will actually be available for projects (most likely.)

I’m excited about our garden this year.  I know, I have said I don’t really enjoy the work a garden requires, even though I love the produce.  But maybe, just maybe, since I won’t be feeling such a time crunch in working and doing all my other housework, I’ll have time to actually enjoy working in the garden.  We have a meeting about the community garden on Saturday and can probably start planting lettuces and peas and maybe potatoes as early as Sunday.  Which is good, because I just bought some potatoes at the grocery last week, and they’ve sprouted eyes like crazy already.  We might cut those babies up and grow some Russets ourselves.

Another reason I’m excited about the garden is that I think it might give me / us a chance to connect with our neighbors more.  We’ve lived here for 11 years, and sure, we know people in town, but maybe not to the extent that I’d like.  Subbing at the schools means that sometimes I see kids around town that I had in class, and that’s simultaneously weird and nice.  I’ve never taught in the school district where I’ve lived before, so this is a new experience.

Chef got some money for his birthday to help out with his aquaponics project which got stalled for lack of capital.  I don’t know how much time he’ll have to put into that now that we’ve doubled (?) the size of our garden, but I’m hoping he will be able to make some progress on that.  I admit, I’m not that interested in the mechanics of getting it going, and that’s really largely because I don’t understand it all very well.  I mean, I get the basic concept, but I don’t have a very mechanical mind, so I’ll let him do all the start up and then when the strawberries are growing, I’ll be happy to harvest them.

I’ve enjoyed seeing birds this spring.  Chef and I visited my parents a few weeks ago, and my mom has bird feeders all around the house.  It was fun to see the birds visit and have a snack.  I have one ceramic bird feeder that a friend made me on her pottery wheel, and my mom gave me another when I was at her house.  Alas, it was crazy windy yesterday and the one from Mom blew off its hook and the roof of the feeder cracked.  I don’t think it’s a critical break, though, and I hope to hang it up again.  Right now I’ve got cracked corn to feed the birds, but I was told that birds aren’t so crazy about cracked corn, so I don’t know how well that will attract them.  (Plus, now all the cracked corn from the one feeder is all over the ground since it flew out when the feeder fell.)  I may have to experiment with various kinds of feed.

Springtime as also made me think again about raising rabbits.  That’s a project that won’t happen for a while because it will take money to buy or build the hutches and to purchase the rabbits and their food.  (I was also thinking about bees, but Chef thinks rabbits will be an easier start-up than bees.  He already has experience with rabbits, after all, and bees are totally new to both of us.  Also, I found out an old college friend just started raising chickens, and I’m totally envious.  We want chickens, but apparently there is an ordinance against it inside town limits.  Phooey.)

I want to run more this spring and summer, and ride my bike, and go hiking and canoeing and camping.

Do you start dreaming in the springtime too?

What exciting things are you up to this spring?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. May your dreams become reality!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

