RSS Feed

Switcheroo

I got a call on Sunday evening asking me to sub on Wednesday for a science teacher who was taking a field trip.  I agreed.  I checked in Wednesday morning and the secretary in charge of subs got me all set up.  She asked if I could also sub on Friday for the German teacher and I agreed.

As I was walking to the classroom, the English teachers accosted me.  “Who are you here for?” they asked, and I told them.  They wanted to switch things around and get me to fill in for an English teacher who was out due to a death in the family.  This teacher  (who is actually a long-term sub filling a maternity leave) had left sketchy, incomplete, and incorrect lesson plans.  (She had said that two classes were reading To Kill a Mockinbird when they were actually reading a non-fiction book called Outliers.)  The English teachers figured I would be better able to throw together some stuff in this class than most other subs.

So I went back down to the office and the secretary made the switch.  The general thought was that I’d probably fill in for this teacher Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, so instead of the two days I thought I’d have, I would end up with three.  Hooray!  Unfortunately, it didn’t work out that way.  The long-term sub will actually be back Thursday and Friday (the funeral isn’t until Saturday) and the secretary already gave the Friday job (for German) to the sub who ended up taking the science position I was originally going to fill today.

As a result, I have just one day this week, unless something else comes up.

It’s a tiny bit discouraging; I turned down subbing in this English classroom on Tuesday because I had a date planned with the hubs.  We had a great time hiking, using a gift card to go out to eat, and visiting family.  But if I’d taken the job, I might have had two or even three days this week instead of just one.

But the date was really fun, and I know God will provide the income we need.

Next week, I for sure have four days as I am helping to proctor state testing at the elementary school.  Wow, that sounds like loads of fun!  But hey, it’s money.

In the meantime, I’ve gotten on the sub lists for two additional school systems, hoping that will fill in any future gaps I have in my town’s system.

And jobs for next school year are starting to post, so I’m keeping my eye out for them every day.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

