RSS Feed

Technology Vacation

I read an article recently about a young man who took a technology vacation.  I can’t recall where I read it or a lot of the details, but the basic idea was that he unplugged himself from most technology for about two months.  He didn’t check email; he suspended his Facebook and Twitter memberships.  He didn’t use his cell phone (he used a public phone if he really needed to call someone.)  He didn’t surf the Internet or watch TV.

What this young man found was that over those sixty days, he made more REAL connections with people.  Instead of texting a friend, he’d go visit.  Instead of Facebooking, he’d have people over for dinner for real face time.

I’ve been in a similar position lately.  With sketchy access to the Internet now that I’m not sitting in front of a computer all day, I check my email far less frequently and I’m online in general a lot less.  Sunday, I sat down and wrote three letters — something almost unheard of in this day of cheap phone calls and texting and email.

I really kind of like it.  I like being unplugged from technology and plugged into people.  I have more energy for face time.  I get more accomplished at home.  I spend time reading or knitting instead of starting at a screen.

What about you?  Could you survive without your tech communication?  How would your life be different?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. I’d have a really hard time with it, to be honest. The internet is my life-line to friends and family back in the U.S. and I don’t like the idea of not being able to communicate with them for two weeks, let alone two months.

    That said, I have found myself online less and less as we get busier and busier. But just knowing I CAN get on gives me comfort.

    Reply
  2. I just heard parts of a discussion on that very topic today on Chris Fabry Live. The young author interviewed suggests taking three days to: detox, discern and decide. He makes the same points you do and emphasizes real/genuine connection.
    Somewhat related: we find we have much more time for the truly important now that we do not have TV access and watch very little of what we can get through hulu+ , netflix, and internet).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

