RSS Feed

Variety

The other day, I talked briefly with with woman who was my office-mate when I worked at the doctors’ office.  “How’s the lady of leisure?” she asked.

“Lady of leisure?”  Hardly.  Not only have I subbed almost every day since I left my other position, but the work is a lot harder.  Before, I knew exactly what I was going to do on any given day; my days and weeks had been mostly identical for the last three years.  Now, I’m never sure what I’m going to walk into.  So far, I’ve filled in for business, social studies, health, and English.  I’ve had freshmen through seniors, and next week I’ll have sixth graders.  Some students are very cooperative, funny, and nice.  Others are disruptive and defiant.  (I’ve written one referral so far.)

The variety is nice, and I get along with all teachers and staff whom I’ve encountered so far.  Still, I’m tired by the end of a day and exhausted at the end of a week.  And my pay is lower.

But would I go back?  Nope.

I don’t love subbing, but I really hated my other job.  And there’s certainly no monotony in what I’m doing now!  (Except for the days when I watch the same movie five times in a row.)  Plus, this work will hopefully lead me to a full-time teaching position that I will enjoy.  I don’t know where or when that will be, but I keep remembering that God asked me to trust him.

 

As a side note, I’ve had less access to the Internet lately.  I generally don’t have computer access when  I’m subbing.  We do finally have Internet at home, but the tablet computer I have has a learning curve that I’ve not quite mastered yet.  I’ve got a couple of blog posts in my head, but getting them out to you has proven more difficult than in the past.  Thanks for understanding!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Keep at it. Maybe one day you will love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

