RSS Feed

Temporary

I haven’t been running much lately.  The Y has been packed with people staying out of the cold and the rain and the sleet and the snow, so I’ve been limited to 30-minute workouts after I get off work.  Sometimes there is no treadmill available, so I use the elliptical instead.  I feel vaguely out of shape — my clothes all still fit and the scale stays roughly the same, but I just don’t have the pep I’d like.  But sooner or later the weather will warm up and I’ll be able to run outdoors again.

Our dogs have terrible cabin fever.  I hate to walk them in the rain (they splash me so my legs get soaked, plus they come home stinky) and the weather has been less than ideal lately.  But it’s not as dark when I get home from work now, so perhaps I’ll be able to take them out a few evenings more often pretty soon.

Chef has been away a lot lately, competing in and judging ice carving competitions.  But competition season will be over around the end of February, so he’ll be home more on weekends.

I’ve realized in the past week that my niece may not be living with us for too much longer.  She and her husband will probably stay with us a for a while until they find a place of their own.  And I knew that she likely wouldn’t be with us much past June anyway, but the reality of it knocked me on the head yesterday.

I have just two and a half more days of work this week.  Everyone has been super nice to me since I put in my notice.  (If they had been this nice to me all along, I might not have been in such a hurry to get out of here.)  I’ve been training a couple of gals to do some of my tasks, but the boss man passively isn’t taking any action to hire someone to help out… and I think that might be a problem.  But it won’t be my problem.  Thursday is my last day.

My life feels like it is in flux.  This is part of the adventure, right?

 

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. If I had read this earlier I wouldn’t have asked so many questions, ha.
    I started back to zumba today after weeks away. Felt good, but now I’m really yawning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

