RSS Feed

Two Weeks

It was time for the morning meeting.  As I stood up, my chest got tight and I couldn’t get a deep breath.  It felt a lot like  the previous Thursday when I was at a different meeting and the accountant was hounding me about the payroll taxes.  Except at least the daily morning meeting didn’t bring me to tears.

Daily operations — or rather, daily interpersonal relations — were such that I just wanted to hide in my office and not talk to anyone.  Which kind of worked, because the office manager had stopped talking to me.  Still, I heard what was going on with other employees.  The US vs THEM attitudes, the subtle bullying, the refusal to work as a cohesive team.

At home, I sat in a chair, grouchily knitting.  Chef called with some little question about something.  I answered him monosyllabically.  He asked what was wrong.  “Same old stuff,” I said.  When he came home, we talked.  “I just want to quit now,” I wailed.

“Well…” he replied.  “Why don’t you?”  We decided that while we don’t have all the money saved up that we’d intended, we’re close.  “And if God wants us to trust him, then we should trust him.  Besides, we’ll never know if we can make it unless we try it.”

It’s scary, for sure.  But with subbing, and tutoring (I’ve got one pupil lined up already), and some freelance work for some friends, I’m hopeful we’ll be okay.

So today, I put in my notice.  My last day of work will be Thursday, February 2.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. HURRAY! I’m so glad for you! 🙂

    Reply
  2. YIPPEE!!!!! So GLAD!

    Reply
  3. Reminds me of when Mike just walked out.
    Good for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

