RSS Feed

Lightheaded

It’s totally girly to post a before and after photo of a haircut.  But first of all, I am a girl.  And second, I have more to say than “Look at my cute new haircut.”

This was me before:

I didn’t intend to make myself look extra-crappy like the before/after photos in advertisements — but I admit I didn’t do anything special to my hair because I was getting ready to get it cut.  And I guess that’s not the most flattering shirt, either.  Oh well, I’m just keeping it real for you, folks!

For the past couple of weeks, I’d been having headaches and neck aches.  I thought it was the weight of my hair, but my office-mate thought it was stress.  My husband didn’t really seem to believe it was my hair, either.  And the argument for stress headaches certainly has merit what with my employment situation.

Then I got my lovely locks lopped.

Four and a half inches whacked off, plus I had the stylist thin it significantly.  (When she was washing it before the cut, she said, “Wow, you really do have a lot of hair!”)

And guess what?  I’m not getting headaches now.

So there.

(Also, I get my hair cut at the beauty school.  It’s six bucks for a wash, cut, blow-dry, and style, and they do a good job — especially with a very basic cut like mine is.)

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

Leave a Reply

