RSS Feed

Dave Ramsey vs. Jon Acuff

I love Dave Ramsey.  The hubs and I read his book The Total Money Makeover a few years ago, and that was what got us out of our stupidity of debt and onto a budget and a plan.  Of course, the original plan had us out of consumer debt last November and unforeseen circumstances derailed that train, but we are still plugging away and We Will Get There.  I just don’t know when, yet.

More recently, I became a fan of Jon Acuff.  I read his book, Quitter and got all inspired and stuff.  I thought about what my Dream Job really is and made a plan to work on it.  Later I realized that what I’d thought was my Dream Job (writing) maybe isn’t really, and so I had to rethink the whole thing.  But I knew I hated where I was (am) so I made a definite plan to get out.  I took a class, volunteered at a local high school, and thus earned points to renew my teacher’s license.  I was and am happy to say I’m going back to teaching.

In the meantime, we’re still in debt and I’m still miserable in my job.  So the hubs and I made another plan.  We would quit paying so much on the debt snowball, save up three months’ worth of expenses, and I’d be out the door.

That was scary, but since God asked me to trust him, that’s what I’m doing.

And it made me wonder, am I doing what Dave would tell me to do?  Am I doing what Jon would tell me to do?  Dave would certainly say to save up the cash.  So we’re doing that.  Jon would say not to quit my day job until my dream job was making me money.  Subbing isn’t a for sure thing, but it is something, and I’m still looking for long-term sub positions for this school year as well as permanent full-time teaching positions for next year.

But would Dave say we should get out of debt before I jump ship from this safe, certain (though mind-numbing, headache-inducing) full time job?  Would Jon tell me to fall into like with my current job a little more before I quit?

I kind of want to see them two of them in a boxing ring, duking it out over this subject.  Or dressed up like Lincoln and Douglass and debating it.

Sure, it would be nice to have two people that I respect telling me what to do, but in reality, God pretty much gave me that direction already.  “Will you trust me?” he said.  Do I have a better option? I ask.  The answer, of course, is no.  There is no better option than trusting God.

So Dave and Jon are just going to have to be OK with that.

(I think they would be, by the way.)

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

4 responses »

  1. I’m excited to see what God works out for you. It may be a combination of teaching and writing and homemaking. Whatever, it will be uniquely suited to you!

    Reply
  2. I was in a situation much like yours a few years ago. I worked full time at a job I hated with people who ignored me because they had their own little clique, and I was miserable. I was actively looking for another job, but all the job opportunities I jumped on were going nowhere. I finally heard back from an employer who was interested in me, but since they were in the middle of a hiring freeze, they said it would be a while before they could do anything about it. I started to become very depressed when I finally clearly heard God tell me to leave my current job. However, having just bought our home a year and half before that, we couldn’t afford the mortgage payments if I stopped working, so hubby told me it wasn’t an option. I spent a few more agonizing months at the job when finally hubby agreed that I just had to leave, and we’d figure the rest out. A week after I’d given my two weeks notice, the job with the hiring freeze contacted me, and wanted me to start a month later. So between the vacation time I had and the increased salary I got at the new job, it was like getting a raise…and I was much SO happier at my new job.

    I just wanted to encourage you that despite what Dave (who I love too; we also followed his program to get out of debt aside from our mortgage) and John say, God can still ask you to trust Him and do something crazy that doesn’t make sense because He’s going to provide for you. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who asks “what would Dave do?” or “what would Acuff do?” I let them debate things out in my head sometimes, too. Congrats on resigning. 🙂 Sounds like a solid choice and well thought through.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

