RSS Feed

Unseasonable

It’s been very warm here for January.  It makes my husband a little grouchy since it’s totally the wrong kind of weather for ice carving competitions.

Today

Sunny
SunnyHi 53 °F
Tonight

Partly Cloudy
Partly
Cloudy
Lo 32 °F
Saturday

Mostly Sunny
Mostly
Sunny
Hi 43 °F
Saturday
Night

Partly Cloudy
Partly
Cloudy
Lo 26 °F
Sunday

Partly Sunny
Partly
Sunny
Hi 41 °F
Sunday
Night

Mostly Cloudy
Mostly
Cloudy
Lo 27 °F
Monday

Mostly Sunny
Mostly
Sunny
Hi 42 °F
Monday
Night

Mostly Clear
Mostly
Clear
Lo 28 °F
Tuesday

Sunny
SunnyHi 46 °F

I’m of two minds.  I really wanted to learn how to cross-country ski this winter, and so far, I’ve not had any opportunity to do so.  And it doesn’t look like my chance is coming any time soon.  Plus, when the ground isn’t frozen, the dogs bring in lots of mud.  My kitchen floor looks terrible.

On the other hand, I got to run outside last night after work.  The temperature was in the 40’s, and I didn’t even wear gloves.  (I did have my hands tucked inside my sweatshirt sleeves, though.)  It was sunny and pretty outside.  It was really nice not to have to be inside the gym, working out on a treadmill.

How’s the weather where you are?  Is it normal for this time of year, or warmer than average?  And how do you feel about it?

image courtesy weather.gov but I don’t know why the image is cut off.  It looks right in my editor, but not on the page.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

4 responses »

  1. Weather’s the same as in your neck of the woods.
    I walked the neighborhood in the sun yesterday 🙂
    Today packing, or rather pulling everything out to pack.
    Monday we begin the move, so the good weather will help.

    Reply
  2. We are sweltering in the high 90s. Even though we open the windows at night to let in what little cool air there is, and close the windows and curtains in the morning to keep the worst of the heat out, it is still cookin’ inside by mid afternoon! Even sitting directly in front of a fan doesn’t help much. Praying for some rain and cool winds to blow in from the south. Meanwhile I try to be as productive as possible in the morning because I’m pretty worthless by afternoon. The heat seems to be bothering me more this year; not sure why that is… or maybe I had just forgotten what it was like, since we had lovely air conditioning at the house in Michigan last summer. I miss that a.c. *sigh*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

