RSS Feed

Book Review: Firefly Lane

image courtesy KristinHannah.com

After I read Winter Garden, I decided I kind of liked Kristin Hannah’s writing.  So when I came across Firefly Lane in the library, I thought I’d try it as well.  (Plus, I know they say you can’t judge a book by its cover, but I liked the cover and covers definitely influence me.)

Firefly Lane tells the story of two girls who become best friends and then follows them through their lives.  Tully is outgoing, popular, determined, and stubborn, but her father skipped out so early in her life she can’t remember him and her mother is completely unreliable.  Katie is shy, awkward, and diffident, but has a stable family who loves her.  These two start out on the same path — same college, same major, same career choice — but their roads eventually diverge.  Katie gets married and chooses to stay home with her babies while Tully climbs the corporate ladder to fame and fortune.  It’s a test of their friendship, but they stay strong until one betrays the other in such a way as to risk damaging the relationship forever.

This book reminded me of Forrest Gump because of the way it touched on major national and world events and popular music.  The events and songs provided a framework to the rest of the story.  While I wouldn’t say it was a good book (because to me that implies some sort of literary significance that I don’t really feel this book possesses), it was an enjoyable book.  I liked the characters (except when they were being stupid and you’re not supposed to like them then anyway) and was interested to see how their friendship would be affected by their life choices.

Score: 8/10

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

