RSS Feed

Three Mini Book Reviews

I’ve simply had too much on my mind lately to do proper book reviews.  But I have read a few books that I enjoyed and I wanted to share them.

image courtesty marybalogh.com

A Matter of Class by Mary Balogh was a cute, easy read.  The story is about the arranged marriage between a “ruined” daughter of an Earl and the extravagant son of a man who wishes he were a gentleman.  By marrying them to one another, the girl’s father assures her a marriage to a wealthy man (even though he does not have a title) and the boy’s father assures entrance into the upper class he so desperately wants to be a part of.  But the young lady and the young man detest each other.  How will it all work out?  There’s a twist to the plot!

Score: 8/10

image courtesty geraldinebrooks.com

Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks takes place in the 1600’s in what is now known as Martha’s Vineyard.  It is an historical novel, based on the true facts of the first Native American to attend Harvard University.  The story focuses on a fictional character, Bethia Mayfield, the daughter of a missionary to the Native people meets this young Wampanoag boy (whom she dubs Caleb) and forms a secret friendship with him.  The story is of Caleb learning about the life of the English and his reasons for doing so.  It is also about Bethia and the plight of a woman in a time period where she has no opportunity for education and no real choices about her life.  The end of the book seemed to try to shove in a lot of stuff that needed to be said without making the book too long, but in all, I enjoyed this historical novel.

Score: 8/10

image courtesy google.com

I know, I know.  It’s been around forever and you’ve probably already read it.  But somehow, I managed to make it to age 36 before ever reading Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  And of course, it’s clever and imaginative — plus it teaches you not to be gluttonous, or greedy, or obsessed with chewing gum and television.

Score: 9/10

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

